AccountHUNTER

The Daily Journal for Ad Agency New Business Hunters

Overcoming Distraction

Posted by Shane Murphy on Monday, December 4, 2006

gossip.jpgI spent most of today with my two kids, getting them acclimated to a new school, as we have recently moved. To be honest, I’m insistent with them that it’s some simple planning and people skills that will make this transition much easier for them, but of course, there’s no talking sense with teenagers.

So, you wonder, why on earth is Shane rambling about his kids? Well, today it comes not from what I’ve been trying to teach them, but more from what I see them — and the others that I saw in and around the school today — engaged in on a daily basis.

And that is the not-so-fine art of being distracted.

Of course, it’s not just teenagers who find themselved distracted much of the time, is it? It’s us too, as professionals. Are you focused every day while you’re hunting for new business, or are you like most of us, easily pulled away for the slightest distraction?

So when I sat down today to blog a bit and get away from the craziness of moving into a new house, I headed out on the net to see what was out there on the art of distraction. I wasn’t surprised to find a nice little blurb from Brandon over at SalesTeamTools about this very issue.

I have to be honest – he nailed exactly what I was thinking, and exactly what I try to help my daughters understand every day. Being distracted isn’t a neccessity – it’s a choice. The successful among us understand that, and they avoid it. The much larger percentage of us might understand it, but aren’t strong enough to avoid it.

“Distraction is the great destroyer of careers. It’s the neutralizer of otherwise talented, intelligent people.

Spending your time on what matters most, hour by hour, in the face of so many interruptions (both unexpected and self-inflicted) has become the great challenge of our time. And while countless books and articles and presentations have been built around overcoming it, the reality is it will ultimately come down to your ability to make the right choices moment by moment.”

I coudn’t have said it better myself.

Leave a Reply

 
