AccountHUNTER

The Daily Journal for Ad Agency New Business Hunters

Book Review: “The Little Black Book of Connections”

Posted by Shane Murphy on Monday, August 7, 2006

gitomer-connections.jpgImagine my surprise last week while on vacation in Chincoteague Island, Virginia, I walked into a tiny bookstore and saw a little black book on the shelf in the business section. As I walked toward the book, the first thought in my my mind was “Jeez… it’s one thing to steal Gitomer’s idea, but to have the book look identical to the Little Red Book series…”

Then I picked it up. By Jeffrey Gitomer.

And it ain’t a sales book?!?

Nope. What it is though, is the “Little Black Book of Connections.”

Two days remaning on an incredible beach, and a brand-new Gitomer book in my hands? Life is good!

Stepping out of his classic sales realm, Gitomer nails it with this wonderful book that focuses on networking as a way to enhance your success in both business and life. As he has discussed ad nauseum in his sales series, Gitomer is a huge believer in building relationships as part of your overall business strategy.

In my opinion, the overall book is strong, but like most Gitomer reads, it’s nothing earth-shattering. It’s just plain, in-your-face, reality.

There are times when I read this guys writing that I literally shake my head and wonder why these things need to be written. But Gitomer has a way of connecting with the reader. It’s an almost conversational, yet confrontational way of just grabbing you by the neck and demanding your attention. The only thing missing is that he can’t make you take action. He can just give you the straight dope. It’s your task to put it into practice.

The strongest section of the book is just six pages long (pp 26-31) and is titled “The 17.5 Strategies, Guidelines, and Rules of Connecting.” These are six of the most powerful pages that I think Gitomer has ever penned.

These strategies and rules are simplistic — but they are not simple. As you read them and begin to understand them, they will help you make connections in a better, more powerful way. Oh, one other thing — you have to implement them.

Those six pages alone are worth the price of admission. Really. Go to the book store and read those six pages. Then buy it and read the whole thing. I’m already on my second read, and I’ve only had this little gem for three days.

Leave a Reply

 
