AccountHUNTER

The Daily Journal for Ad Agency New Business Hunters

Review: RIM BlackBerry 7130e

Posted by Shane Murphy on Tuesday, May 16, 2006

Building on last week's focus on handheld unit sales, this week finds me taking a look at the BlackBerry from Research In Motion.

blackberry.jpgI'm sure that many of you are already BlackBerry converts. It took me a while to finally take the plunge out of the PocketPC world, but last Thurday I got my first taste of a BlackBerry. Yes, like I discussed last week, the linking together of the personal information management platform and a telephone had a major influence on my decision. To be quite honest, I got tired of trying to keep track of both a PocketPC unit and a cell phone, plus the travel chargers for each, plus my synching cradle, and on… and on… and on.

So now I'm sporting a 7130e BlackBerry using Verizon Wireless. And to be blunt, this thing kicks butt. I'm still adjusting to the 'always available' concept of my Email, mostly because I have a hard time ignoring it when it comes in! But I've already noticed that when I sit down to wrap up my day each evening, my inbox is magically clean… something that it's never been at the end of a day before.

From the BlackBerry website:

"The BlackBerry 7130e puts top-of-the-line features, such as, speakerphone, Bluetooth technology, instant messaging, polyphonic ringtones and Ev-DO* technology for fast email, application and browser speeds, into a sleek and stylish handset. You can compose messages quickly with SureType™ technology, which combines a traditional phone keypad and familiar QWERTY keyboard for a familiar dialing and typing experience."

Learning to type on this thing is interesting, but now that I'm solving the little quirks, it's significantly faster than anything I've ever used before.

After toying with this thing for just a few days, I'd recommend it to anybody who either has a few hundred dollars to blow, or is ready to upgrade their equipment with a cellular provider. The BlackBerry still lacks in software, from what I've seen so far, but as wickedly-easy to use at this little thing is, I can't imagine that's gonna last forever.

Check out some more reviews from PhoneScoop.

Leave a Reply

 
